Bookish Discoveries of the Week (4/7/13)

Cabinet of Curiosities


Cabinet Magazine goes on trial.

How Poetic

Don’t tell me you forgot it’s National Poetry Month?!! Seriously? Well, here’re some ways for you to start making amends:

New Words or Phrases

  • autonomasia: In rhetoric, antonomasia is a substitution of any epithet or phrase for a proper name, such as “the little corporal” for Napoleon I. (definition courtesy of Wikipedia)
  • catachresis: 1) The misapplication of a word or phrase, as the use of blatant to mean “flagrant.” 2) The use of a strained figure of speech, such as a mixed metaphor (e.g., blind mouths). (definition courtesy of The Free Dictionary). Interestingly enough, I was just about to publish this blog post using the definition for catachresis I got from reading The Savage Detectives–“a metaphor that’s become part of common everyday speech and is no longer perceived as a metaphor. For example, needle’s eye, bottleneck.”–but I decided to look it up because I though the author might be intentionally messing with his readers…

Leave a comment