A Pile ‘O Literary Links

Perhaps at one point I had planned on writing a separate blog post about or inspired by each of the following links but they have piled up like some sort of backlog I’ll never get to… Still, they seemed worth sharing.

IMG_0973

Scary Stories 101

Looks like this first link has been worth sitting on for a year since it’s almost time for Halloween again! American Short Fiction put together a list of their favorite horror stories. I’ve only read 3 or 4 of these myself, but some wonderful authors are included here.

IMG_3729

Codex Seraphianus Back in Print

The enigmatic encyclopedia by artist Luigi Serafini has long puzzled and delighted readers with its other worldly illustrations and undecipherable text. I could have sworn I did a previous post about this, but my memory often creates all kinds of wonderful (and quite flattering) realities about myself that have no basis in reality. You can download a free PDF copy here, but this new edition looks like a gem if you must own a copy. A belated thanks to the always entertaining and enlightening Brain Pickings site for covering this.

IMG_5088

Grammar, Identity, and the Dark Side of the Subjunctive

Why would you want me to ruin a perfect link title like that with words of my own? Just go check it out.

IMG_2143

Marilynne Robinson on Staying Out of Trouble

I e-mailed the link for this interview to myself a year ago today with the intention of doing a much longer blog post on Marilynne Robinson (one of my favorite living writers). How serendipitous that I should just now be getting around to posting it just shy of the release of her new book, Lila! (I like how they can bill something as “a new American classic” before it’s even released.)

The Almighty Star Trek Lit-verse Reading Order Flow Chart

Never read any Star Trek novels but I admire the dedication to the cause on this one!

The Almighty Star Trek Lit-verse Reading Order Flow Chart
Leave a Reply

